The start of school can be a stressful time for your family.
Juggling work, school drop off and pick up, homework, etc. can make it difficult for two income households or single parent households. Depending on your family’s situation you may not be able to afford after school care and your children become latchkey kids.
According to Florida’s Department of Children and Families, there is not a specific age that a child may be left home alone in Florida. The National SAFE KIDS Campaign recommends that you don’t leave children alone before the age of 12. Many other children will not be ready until later than that. As a result, experts caution that older siblings are generally not ready for the responsibility of supervising younger children until the age of 15 or older.
Florida Statutes mandates mandatory reporters, should contact the Florida Abuse Hotline when they know or have reasonable cause to suspect that a child or a vulnerable adult has been abused, abandoned, neglected, or exploited. The Florida Abuse Hotline Counselor will determine if the information provided meets legal investigation requirements. You can contact the hotline at 1-800-962-2873
Also, Florida Statutes mandate that the Hotline be contacted when any person who knows, or has reasonable cause to suspect, that a child of any age is being left home alone without adult supervision or arrangements appropriate for the child’s age or mental or physical condition.
We recommend you visit DCF’s website to get additional information about things to consider before you leave your child alone. https://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/childwelfare/caregivers/whentoleaveyourkidshomealone.shtml
Leaving your child home alone could be considered neglect, especially if a safety incident occurs.
“Neglect” occurs when a child is deprived of, or is allowed to be deprived of, necessary food, clothing, shelter, or medical treatment or a child is permitted to live in an environment when such deprivation or environment causes the child’s physical, mental, or emotional health to be significantly impaired or to be in danger of being significantly impaired.
You can face penalties for child neglect ranging from $500 for a misdemeanor up to $15,000 and life in prison if charged with a felony. Teacher and school employees are mandatory reporters which means they are required by law to report any suspicion of neglect or abuse. Seek help if your family is in need financially or need assistance with parenting responsibilities.
33rd Street Bail Bonds is the oldest Orlando bail bonds agency in Central Florida. We are available year-round, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Need bail now? Give us a call at 407-425-7200 and we will walk you through the bail bond process. Our knowledgeable and experienced bail bondsmen will answer any questions you may have and provide an empathetic ear.
We bail clients from the Orange County Jail, Seminole County Jail, Volusia County Jail, Lake County Jail and the Osceola County Jail. Over the years we have bailed out defendants who have committed crimes in Lake Mary, Orlando, Windermere, Pine Hills, MetroWest Conway, Casselberry, Heathrow, Sanford, Maitland, Altamonte Springs, Longwood and throughout Central Florida. Please give us a call if you need fast bail now.
Contact 33rd Street Bail bonds today at 407-425-3303. We can assist with bail bonds for domestic violence, child neglect, drugs, drug paraphernalia, operating a motor vehicle with a suspended license, theft, tax evasion and . Call us today, we can help you!